Rubber Stamp Chat

Go Back   Rubber Stamp Chat > Library Archives > Guest Artist Archives > Scenic Stamping with Kevin Nakagawa of Stampscapes

Scenic Stamping with Kevin Nakagawa of Stampscapes Kevin gives detailed answers regarding scenic stamping, techniques and color application.

Old 05-06-2009, 08:25 PM
One Eye Wonder

Default Scenic Stamp must haves???

Kevin,

I am new to stamping & am interested in scenic stamping, but as you said in another post it is intimidating to know where to start.

If you were starting from scratch as a new scenic stamper, what do you think are 'must have' stamps, tools, books, or videos etc.?
Old 05-06-2009, 09:11 PM
Beeswax Rubber Stamps

ooohhhh....great question!
Old 05-06-2009, 09:24 PM
Stampscapes

There's a lot of companies that have great scenic stamps out there including the owner of this site --Amy of Beeswax. Coronado Island, Sutter Stamps, etc. We probably all have our notions of the basics within our own lines. From a concept point of view, I see things like this: A good generic sky stamp such as a universal cloud is something that you can use in any sky over any terrain. A good foreground image is something that you can place in a scene to frame it off and give it depth. Then, a good water and grass texture to fill in space for either water or land scenes will round out the basics. You'll want these images to blend very easy and be widely applicable to as many different types of scenes as possible. From there, it's a matter of what the theme of your scene do you want to start with --a Lake/water scene, a land based scene, a pine or deciduous tree scene?