Rubber Stamp Chat

Go Back   Rubber Stamp Chat > Library Archives > Guest Artist Archives > Scenic Stamping with Kevin Nakagawa of Stampscapes

Scenic Stamping with Kevin Nakagawa of Stampscapes Kevin gives detailed answers regarding scenic stamping, techniques and color application.

Old 05-03-2009, 05:52 PM
Beeswax Rubber Stamps

Thumbs up Interview with Kevin Nakagawa

What was your artistic background before you discovered rubber stamping?

I discovered rubber stamping when I answered a want ad for a production assistant at A Stamp in the Hand Co. (ASITH) I was going to school at the time --CA State Univ. Long Beach-- and was studying art. Before that I had done a lot of art and design work while in high school which probably prepared me, as much as anything, for what I do now. We happened to have a great art and design program in high school and I took things like art, graphic arts, photography, and I was a section editor on our yearbook for a couple years. I learned a lot of traditional materials and techniques of art and production in those years including things like typesetting with traditional metal type cases and printing presses, silk screening, all the black and white art media, and photographic processes like development, darkroom techniques, and using horizontal format cameras.

What got you started in rubber stamping and do you remember your first stamp?