Absolute newbie question about colored pencils [Archive] - Rubberstampchat

View Full Version : Absolute newbie question about colored pencils

minstrel
12-12-2009, 06:01 AM
I'm an absolute newbie to rubberstamping. Although I've been a scrapbooker for many years, I'm finding RS to open up a whole new world! My dh bought me a HUGE set of Prismacolor colored pencils (132 colors!!) and I sat down to play with them, but though the colors are INCREDIBLE, I'm having so much trouble with the leads breaking (and I'm trying to be sooo careful and not even sharpen them halfway, which brings another problem - can't get in fine places). :cry: They're so expensive, that I hate throwing away the lead that's coming out of them. How do you keep them from breaking and wasting so much of them? TIA for your help!

stampin stacy
12-12-2009, 07:09 AM
One of the sacrifices of such wonderful color is that these pencils are softer and more fragile than cheaper ones because they have more color pigment concentration and less binders such as wax etc. Honestly a light hand when coloring is all you need due to the higher pigment. I have heard of Prisma pencils getting damaged if the box has been dropped (before purchase even) and therefore breakage being an issue.

I tend to have a heavy hand myself but don't have this problem and am able to sharpen them to a sharp point when needed. If you continue to have problems I would contact the company directly. Here is a link to their website:

http://www.prismacolor.com/sanford/consumer/prismacolor/product/category.jhtml?cat=SNPRCat100001

Inky Whiskers
12-12-2009, 07:59 AM